Team India comprehensively defeated Sri Lanka in the second T20I in Dharamsala to take the unassailable lead of 2-0 in the three-match series.

Chasing the huge target of 184, India lost captain Rohit Sharma early as Dushmantha Chameera dismissed him for 1 run only. Soon, Lahiru Kumara removed Ishan Kishan to reduce India to 44/2 in 5.1 overs.

Before the visitors could capitalise further, Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson joined hands to take the home team out of trouble. The pair of Shreyas and Samson played sensibly in the beginning before going for the full monty to take the game away from the Islanders.

Shreyas and Samson took Lankan bowlers to the cleaners and added a match-winning 84 runs for the third wicket. While Samson was sent back at 39 by Kumara, Shreyas stayed unbeaten on 74 off 44 deliveries to take India home. Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja played a blistering knock down the order to damage the Sri Lankan bowling attack further. Jadeja also stayed not out on 45 off just 18 balls, including eight boundaries.

Earlier, Sri Lanka posted a massive 183/5 on the board in their allotted 20 overs, thanks to Pathum Nissanka‘s explosive knock at the top. The swashbuckling opener smashed 75 runs from just 53 deliveries with the help of 11 boundaries.

Nissanka was well supported by his opening partner Danushka Gunathilaka, who scored 38 off 29 balls. Captain Dasun Shanaka also chipped in with valuable contributions down the order to help his side reach a competitive total. Shanaka stayed unbeaten on 47 off 19 balls, including 2 fours and 5 humungous sixes.

For the hosts, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal were the least expensive bowlers. While Bumrah conceded 24 runs in his quota of 4 overs, including a wicket, Chahal also picked up one scalp for 27 runs in 4 overs.

Here is how Twitter reacted:

11th T20I win on the bounce for #TeamIndia 👏👏@Paytm #INDvSL

— BCCI (@BCCI) February 26, 2022

Knock to remember from #ShreyasIyer & sheer dominance throughout his knock from #RavindraJadeja Congratulations team India on winning one more series 👏👏 #RohitSharma #RahulDravid #INDvSL #TeamIndia

— Vinay Kumar R (@Vinay_Kumar_R) February 26, 2022

Not the result we expected, India take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the T20I series. #INDvSL

— Sri Lanka Cricket 🇱🇰 (@OfficialSLC) February 26, 2022

#ShreyasIyer , #SanjuSamson and #Jadeja all of three scored crucial runs at different stages. Good to see the World Cup preparations are in right direction. Congratulations team India for another series win! #INDvSL #CricketTwitter

— parthiv patel (@parthiv9) February 26, 2022

What a run chase 💥

India take the series ✌️-0️⃣ with a game to go 😎#INDvSL #SaddaPunjab #PunjabKings

— Punjab Kings (@PunjabKingsIPL) February 26, 2022

Not a slog from Jadeja, just classy shots, and he finishes with 45(18). Absolutely loved the way Shreyas Iyer played the field. That is 2 in 2 now that he has played like this.

— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) February 26, 2022

Woah… that’s what you call a comprehensive win!

This has been top class batting… a strike rate of almost 200 for the last 50 runs.

— KSR (@KShriniwasRao) February 26, 2022

Jadeja played some terrific, cricketing shots.

— Bharath Ramaraj (@Fancricket12) February 26, 2022

𝙎𝙖𝙩𝙪𝙧𝙙𝙖𝙮 𝙣𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩 𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙘𝙠𝙗𝙪𝙨𝙩𝙚𝙧… brought to you by #TeamIndia 😎#OneFamily #INDvSL @ShreyasIyer15 @BCCI

— Mumbai Indians (@mipaltan) February 26, 2022

India seal series in Dharamsala ⏩

— (@CricketTimesHQ) February 26, 2022

India have registered 11th consecutive T20I win #INDvsSL

— Sarang Bhalerao (@bhaleraosarang) February 26, 2022

WHAT. A. CHASE 🔥#TeamIndia make light work of the chase to seal the series with a game to spare 💙#INDvSL

— Delhi Capitals (@DelhiCapitals) February 26, 2022

Take a bow Ravindra Jadeja. Take a bow, Shreyas Iyer. Brilliant batting. 2-0.#INDvSL

— Subhayan Chakraborty (@CricSubhayan) February 26, 2022

.@ShreyasIyer15‘s 74* and @imjadeja’s 45* help the #MenInBlue coast past the 184-run target to HAND INDIA THE SERIES 2-0. 🧡#INDvSL #TeamIndia

— SunRisers Hyderabad (@SunRisers) February 26, 2022

🦁💛DHARAMSHALA FINISHES! #INDvSL #WhistlePodu 🦁💛 @imjadeja
🖼️ : @BCCI

— Chennai Super Kings – Mask P😷du Whistle P🥳du! (@ChennaiIPL) February 26, 2022

Rohit Sharma after becoming full-time captain:


11th consecutive win – 4th series win as a captain.

— Johns. (@CricCrazyJohns) February 26, 2022

For latest cricket news & updates, visit