Pakistan pacer Shaheen Afridi on Sunday beat Australia’s Steve Smith and Rohit Sharma of India to create a new world record in T20 cricket after he led Lahore Qalandars to their maiden Pakistan Super League (PSL) title triumph at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Sunday.

With win over Multan Sultan, the 21-year-old Afridi has become the youngest captain to win a T20 league. He surpassed Smith, who at the age of 22 led Sydney Sixers to victory in the 2012 Big Bash League (BBL), and Rohit, who at the age of 26 propelled Mumbai Indians (MI) to their first Indian Premier League (IPL) title in 2013.

Brief scores (PSL 2022 final): Lahore Qalandars 180/5 in 20 overs (Mohammad Hafeez 69, Harry Brook 41 not out, David Wiese 28 not out; Asif Afridi 3-19) beat Multan Sultans 138 all out in 19.3 overs (Khushdil Shah 32; Shaheen Afridi 3-30, Mohammad Hafeez 2-23) by 42 runs.

Here’s how Twitter reacted:

@thePSLt20 CHAMPIONS LAHORE QALANDARS congratulations to all the fans Captain @iShaheenAfridi @sameenrana #AqibJavid @David_Wiese @HarisRauf14 @MHafeez22 @FakharZamanLive @lahoreqalandars ❤️🔥

— Rashid Khan (@rashidkhan_19) February 27, 2022

The wait of 7 long years has finally ended. We are PSL champions, Alhumdulillah 🏆

Grateful to every single player, coaches, owners, staff and super fans for your belief. You made it possible. @iMRizwanPak bhai & @MultanSultans, you fought like champions#MeHoonQalandar #DilSe

— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) February 28, 2022

Winner of the Bowler of the tournament and the picture of the tournament awards, the one and only ICC Cricketer of the year.@iShaheenAfridi

— Umaid Asif عمید آصف 🇵🇰 (@umaid_asif) February 27, 2022

How Good 😍 🏆,
Congratulations Lahore 💚,@lahoreqalandars @iShaheenAfridi Sameen Bhai n Aqib Bhai
Thoroughly deserving
Excellent PSL @FakharZamanLive n Zaman Khan 👏🏽
And Thank you very much @TheRealPCB @thePSLt20 for an amazing event#PSL7Final #PSL7Champions #LahoreQalandars

— Fawad Ahmed (@bachaji23) February 27, 2022

🌟 The Qalandars Dream comes true after 7 years! 🌟 #HBLPSL7 l #LevelHai l #MSvLQ I #HBLPSLFinal

— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) February 27, 2022

Shaheen Afridi (21 years) is the youngest captain to win a major T20 league in the world. Previous: Steve Smith (22 years) for Sydney Sixer in 2012 and Rohit Sharma (26 years) for Mumbai Indians in IPL in 2013.

— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) February 27, 2022

Terrific achievement for Shaheen Shah Afridi as such a young leader, to win the PSL title. Well done @lahoreqalandars

— Ian Raphael Bishop (@irbishi) February 27, 2022

Thank you @lahoreqalandars for an amazing @thePSLt20. 🏆 🏆 🏆 It’s a special group of players to work with and after all the hard work they put in I’m so glad they got the success!

— ben dunk (@bendunk51) February 28, 2022

Champions 🏆🏆🏆 What a night!! @lahoreqalandars @thePSLt20 #dilse

— David Wiese (@David_Wiese) February 27, 2022

CONGRATS @lahoreqala @sameenrana @atifnaeemrana FawadRana, @iShaheenAfridi and the whole gang.

Welcome to the CHAMPIONS club. You played like Champions and are Champions.#HBLPSL7 #LevelHai #MSvLQ

— Ali Naqvi (@AliNaqvi808) February 27, 2022

For latest cricket news & updates, visit