Australia will tour Sri Lanka in June for the first time in six years for a multi-format series, confirmed Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Friday.

The eight white-ball matches (three T20Is and five ODIs) will be hosted by the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and the Pallekele International Stadium in Kandy from June 7 to 24. Similarly, the two Test match leg, which will be part of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC), are scheduled at Galle from June 29 to July 3 and July 8-12.

“We are in for some exciting cricket, especially considering that an Australian tour to Sri Lanka is taking place after 5 years, since last time they toured Sri Lanka,” said Ashley De Silva, CEO of SLC, in a statement.

“We played some very competitive T20 internationals against Sri Lanka at home earlier this year, and we are excited to tour there for the first time since 2016 in what is sure to be another terrific Test and white-ball series,” said Cricket Australia (CA) CEO Nick Hockley.

“There is no more challenging place to play cricket than on the subcontinent, and this tour offers our players invaluable experience and another great opportunity to excel on the world stage,” added Hockley.

Full schedule of Australia’s tour to Sri Lanka, 2022:

T20I series:

June 7: First T20, Colombo
June 8: Second T20, Colombo
June 11: Third T20, Kandy

ODI series:

June 14: First ODI, Kandy
June 16: Second ODI, Kandy
June 19: Third ODI, Colombo
June 21: Fourth ODI, Colombo
June 24: Fifth ODI, Colombo

Test series:

June 29 – July 3: First Test, Galle
July 8-12: Second Test, Galle

For latest cricket news & updates, visit