India batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad will miss the remaining T20I series against Sri Lanka due to a wrist injury. An issue in his wrist had ruled him out of the first T20I in Lucknow as well.

“Ruturaj Gaikwad complained of pain in his right wrist, which is affecting his batting. He was unavailable for selection for the first T20I. The BCCI Medical Team is examining him,” a source was quoted saying by Cricbuzz.

Mayank Agarwal will replace Gaikwad in the Indian squad for the final two T20I matches, scheduled in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27, respectively.

A source in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also added that it was not difficult to send in Agarwal as Gaikwad’s replacement as the right-handed opener was in Chandigarh, and he quickly rushed to Dharamsala.

“It was not difficult to send Agarwal in because it could easily be a bubble-to-bubble transfer. He was in Chandigarh and he was immediately rushed,” added the BCCI source.

An uncapped player in T20Is, Agarwal is unlikely to feature in the final XI as Kishan performed brilliantly in the opening T20I. However, the Karnataka-lad is a confirmed selection in Tests and will open the innings with captain Rohit Sharma.

Mohali and Bengaluru will host the two-Test series against Sri Lanka from March 2 and 12.

India’s revised T20I squad for Sri Lanka T20Is:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Avesh Khan, Mayank Agarwal.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit