• Home
  • Cricket
  • RCBW Makes History: Triumph in WPL 2024 After 16-Year Wait

RCBW Makes History: Triumph in WPL 2024 After 16-Year Wait

RCBW Makes History Triumph in WPL 2024 After 16-Year Wait
Email :4

Introduction: 16 years of wait is over and girls brought the glory at home: RCBW won the WPL 2024

Almost every RCBW fan was craving to see their team lifting the trophy. For 16 years they were waiting for this moment. Although, they were waiting to win their men’s team in the IPL. However, the women’s team fulfilled their dream in the WPL 2024 & yes, every RCB fan is celebrating the moment.  Let’s dive into the details of the news. Stay tuned with sprintersgames.in to get all the sports updates on time.

The RCBW defeated DCW in the finals of the WPL 2024 and bagged the second edition of the cup.  This win ended the trophy drought of the club after 16 years.

Although, almost every fan lost their hopes in the team because of their inconsistent performance. However, they played extraordinarily and defeated DC by eight wickets to lift the WPL trophy at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Sunday, March 17.

Delhi Capitals scored 113 runs in 18.3 overs while RCB scored 115/2 in 19.3 overs.

DC started well, racing away to 64/0 before Sophie Molineux turned the game around with a three-wicket over. Shreyanka Patil then took four wickets while Asha Sobhana two as DC suffered an epic batting collapse. Sophie Molineux single-handedly crushed the top order of Delhi Capitals. She took the wickets of dangerous Shafali Varma, the in-form Jemmimah Rodrigues, and the hard-hitting Alice Capsey all in one over. This magical performance of the whole team helped RCB bowl out DC for just 113 runs in the final. Additionally, Smriti’s 31 in 39 balls worked as the cherry on the top.

Ellyse Perry bagged the Orange Cap for this season while Shreyanka Patil won the Purple Cup.

Let’s focus on the deets of the match:

Delhi Capitals won the toss & they decided to bat first. Lanning and Shafali got DC off to a flying start, posting the joint-highest power-play score in WPL 2024. Shafali was also playing great and was about to be the first Indian player to score a half-century in the WPL finals. However, Molineux stopped her. She scored 44 runs for DC consisting of two boundaries and three awe-inspiring sixes.

We have to admit that Molineux’s is one of the best picks of RCB. She changed the whole game. After Shafali, she took the wickets of Jemmimah and Capsey, triggering a monumental collapse of the Capitals. DC was great till the eighth over at 64 for no loss. However, the Capitals found themselves staggering at 65 for 3 by the end of the over.

After Molineux, Shreyanka is the girl who won our hearts. She took Lanning’s wicket in the 11th over, thus pushing DC into further disarray at 74 for 4. Then Asha dismissed veteran players Marizzane Kapp and Jess Jonassen, leaving DC tottering at 81 for 6.

Still, DC was fighting. Molineux made Radha Yadav run-out. However, the fans saw a ray of hope even in this position when Minnu Mani and Arundhati Roy took the baton. They helped DC to pass the 100-run mark. However, their efforts were short-lived as Shreyanka claimed her second wicket of the day in the form of Mani.

Shreyanka left us awe-struck by picking up four wickets and conceding a mere 12 runs in 3.3 overs.

In the second innings, Mandhana and Sophie Divine stitched a steady 49-run stand for the opening wicket.

However, Perry became the hero of the RCB. She provided support to Mandhana. When the scoreboard pressure was high &  Mandhana tried to hit Mani out of the park and ended up getting caught at mid-on by Arundhati Reddy, it was Perry who took the pressure and supported RCB in the right way. Perry controlled her nerves in check to guide RCB over the line with eight wickets and three balls remaining.

Here is the list of the awards for the WPL 2024:

WPL Title Winner – Royal Challengers Bangalore

WPL Runner-up – Delhi Capitals

Orange Cap – Ellyse Perry

Purple Cap – Shreyanka Patil

Most Valuable Player – Deepti Sharma

Emerging Player – Shreyanka Patil

Best Catch – Sanjeevan Sajana

Best Strike rate – Georgia Wareham

Fairplay Award – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Player of the final – Sophie Molineux

Back in 2023, RCBW reached the eliminator round, MI defeated RCB and they reached the finals.

Let’s focus on the RCBW team stats:

IPL 2009 finals (men’s) – lost the match to Deccan Chargers

IPL 2011 final (men’s) – lost to Chennai Super Kings

CLT20 2011 final: lost to Mumbai Indians

IPL 2016 final: lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad

WPL 2024 final: Finally RCB won the final. RCB defeated DC.

Emotional moment for the RCBW team:

The franchise finally ended its trophy drought with the help of Smriti and undoubtedly, it is an incredibly emotional moment. Speaking at the post-match presentation, Mandhana said, “Last year taught us a lot of things, as a player, as a captain, and as a team. The management, the way they backed me during the review after the season, they have been through a lot and a big thumbs up (to them).”

On the title triumph, she said, “The feeling has not sunk in yet, maybe it will take time. Hard for me to come out with a lot of expressions. I only want to say that I am proud of the bunch. We have been through ups and downs but they have stuck at it, and the way we have gotten past the line (tonight), it was amazing. Our Bangalore leg was really good. We had two tough losses (in Delhi). That is what we talked about.”

“The last league match was like a quarter, then the semi and the final. In such tournaments, you must peak at the right time,” she added.

“For them (management) to have this trophy, it is amazing for them. I am not the only one who has won the trophy, the team has won. For RCB as a franchise to win, it is special,” Mandhana, who scored 269 runs this season, added.

“This win is one of the top five maybe. A World Cup (win) would top it. I have a message for all the RCB fans, the most loyal fan base. Nothing would have been possible without their support. Ee Sala Cup Namde (The Cup will be ours this time) always comes up, and now I just want to say Ee Sala Cup Namdu (The Cup is ours this time),” Mandhana commented.

Final words for team RCBW :

Many many congratulations to the RCBW team. Stay tuned with sprintersgames.in to get all the sports updates on time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post