New Zealand have announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming limited-overs series against the Netherlands. Both nations will battle out in the one-off T20I followed by three-match ODI series, starting March 25 in Napier.

Before the international matches, Black Caps and the Netherlands will face-off in two ODI warm-up fixtures and one T20I Practice match, starting March 17.

However, in the New Zealand squad, as many as 12 white-ball regular players were not picked as they will be participating in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, beginning March 26 in Mumbai.

The 12-member IPL bound contingent includes the likes of Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Lockie Ferguson etc. In the absence of Williamson, Tom Latham will lead the New Zealand team in all four games against the Netherlands.

The absence of regular stars have given maiden call-ups to players like Michael Bracewell and wicketkeeper-batsman Dane Cleaver. Notably, Bracewell had declined an opportunity to tour Bangladesh last September since he was awaiting the birth of his first child. He has been picked in both the squads, however, Cleaver has been chosen only for the one-off T20I.

“Anytime you lose 12 front-liners, it’s going to be a challenge, but we’re really excited by the players we’ve been able to call on. With another T20 World Cup later this year and the ODI World Cup next year, it’s a good time to be offering opportunities to a wider group of players,” said coach Gary Stead as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“Both players (Cleaver and Bracewell) have been on the national radar for some time and certainly deserve their selection off the back of another quality domestic season. Michael is a superb ball-striker who can mix touch with his power, while his right arm off-breaks are an asset to any side. Dane, along with Cam Fletcher, has been the stand-out wicket-keeper-batsman of the Dream11 Super Smash in recent years. We felt Dane’s consistent weight of runs and the role he can play at the top of the order gave him the slight edge,” he added.

Here is New Zealand while-ball squad for the home series against the Netherlands:

Tom Latham (Captain), Doug Bracewell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (T20I only), Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson (ODIs only), Scott Kuggeleijn (T20I only), Henry Nicholls (ODIs only), Ben Sears (T20I only), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor (ODIs only), Blair Tickner, Will Young.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit