Legendary pacer Lasith Malinga congratulated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) all-rounder Dwayne Bravo after the latter became the all-time highest wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history on Thursday.

Bravo achieved the historic feat during the IPL 2022 match against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. The CSK star, who was tied with Malinga at the top spot with 170 wickets, achieved the landmark after dismissing Deepak Hooda in the 18th over of Lucknow’s chase.

The Trinidadian now has 171 wickets to his name in 153 IPL matches, while Malinga had taken 170 wickets in 122 matches. Bravo and Malinga are followed by Amit Mishra (166), Piyush Chawla (157) and Harbhajan Singh (150) in IPL’s all-time leading wicket-takers list.

Malinga took to his official Twitter handle and congratulated Bravo for accomplishing the special milestone. The Sri Lankan legend termed Bravo as a ‘champion’ bowler.

“Bravo is a CHAMPION Congratulations on becoming the highest wicket-taker in IPL history, mate @DJBravo47. More to go, young man! #IPL2022,” Malinga wrote on Twitter.

Bravo is a CHAMPION🕺🏻
Congratulations on becoming the highest wicket-taker in IPL history mate @DJBravo47👏
More to go young man!🤩#IPL2022

— Lasith Malinga (@ninety9sl) March 31, 2022

However, despite achieving a personal milestone, Bravo ended up on the losing side as CSK lost their second consecutive game in the ongoing fifteenth season of the cash-rich league. CSK posted a mammoth total of 210 runs on the board, but LSG managed to cross the finish line in the final over, completing the fourth-highest successful run chase in the history of the tournament.

Evin Lewis was the chief architect behind the epic chase as the Windies star remained unbeaten on 55 off 23 balls, guiding the Super Giants to a stunning six-wicket win. Apart from Lewis, LSG skipper KL Rahul scored 40 off 26 balls, while opener Quinton de Kock hit 61 off 45 deliveries. Young Ayush Badoni remained unbeaten on 19 off 9 balls.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.