Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Friday, confirmed that the third edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2022 will commence on July 31.

The 20-over competition, which consists of five teams, Kandy Warriors, Dambulla Giants, Colombo Stars, Galle Gladiators, and Jaffna Kings, will complete on August 21. The entire tournament will be held in Colombo and Hambantota, and a total of 24 matches will be played in the upcoming season.

Notably, SLC founded LPL back in 2018, but the first edition of the tournament was played in 2020 after getting postponed several times. Jaffna Kings (Jaffna Stallions in 2020) are the most successful side in the league as they have won the first two editions of the tournament.

”We are extremely happy to announce the 3rd edition of the Lanka Premier League, which has started well its journey toward carving a place in the global T20 League competitions as a formidable tournament,” said Mr Shammi Silva, SLC President, in a statement.

Although the complete schedule of the tournament has not been announced yet, but the matches will be initially held in Colombo before shifting to Hambantota. Further, SLC also confirmed that the registration of the international players for the player draft would commence shortly.

Overall, Danushka Gunathilaka is the leading run-getter in the tournament, while ace spinner Wanindu Hasaranga is the highest wicket-taker. Gunathilaka has amassed 702 runs in 20 matches at the strike rate of 139.56 with six half-centuries to his name. Similarly, Hasaranga has picked up 28 wickets from 20 games at an economy rate of 5.98, with 3/15 being his best performance.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit