India vice-captain KL Rahul and all-rounder Axar Patel have been ruled out of the upcoming three-match T20I series against the West Indies to be played in Kolkata from February 16, the BCCI stated in a press release on Friday.

“Rahul sustained an upper left hamstring strain during fielding in the 2nd ODI on 9th February 2022 while Axar has resumed the final stage of his rehabilitation after recently recovering from Covid-19. They will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injury,” the release added.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Deepak Hooda will be replacing the injured duo in the 18-player squad.

India whitewashed the West Indies (3-0) with an emphatic win in the third and final ODI in Ahmedabad on Friday. India set West Indies a 266-run target after half-centuries by Shreyas Iyer (80) and Rishabh Pant (56).

In reply, the visitors got bundled out 169 in 37.1 overs, losing the contest by 96 runs. Mohammad Siraj and Prasidh Krishna picked three wickets each, while Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav grabbed two scalps apiece.

India’s T20I squad for West Indies series:

Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammad Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit