The final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, which is set to be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29, will start at 8 pm IST. The decision has been taken by the IPL Governing Council to make way for a 45-minute closing ceremony.

“The cultural programme is likely to continue for about 45 minutes and that’s why the toss will be at 7.30pm and the match will start at 8pm,” a BCCI official was quoted as saying to Sportstar.

“Since this is the final, the Board wanted to celebrate the 15th year of the tournament through a closing ceremony,” the official added.

The closing ceremony, which will see some big names from the Bollywood industry, will start at around 6: 30 pm and will last for 45 minutes. Oscar-winning music maestro AR Rahman, Bollywood stars Ranveer Singh and Urvashi Rautela, will perform in the IPL event.

Reportedly, the BCCI has also informed the franchises that the evening matches in the IPL would have an 8 pm IST start from next season onwards.

IPL 2022 Closing Ceremony details

Date: May 29
Time: 6:30-7:15 pm IST
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Broadcast: Star Sports Network; Disney+Hotstar

For latest cricket news & updates, visit