The mega auction for the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is just around the corner, and all the 10 franchises have prepared themselves to get the best deals.

Recently, the players’ auction list was revealed comprising of 590 cricketers (370 Indian, 220 overseas). Out of these 590 stars, 228 are capped players, 355 are uncapped players, and seven belong to Associate Nations.

The IPL 2022 auction will take place in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13, and the bidding process will be a 2-day affair. Before finalizing the players, the already existing eight teams were asked to retain a maximum of four players ahead of the mega-auction. While CSK, DC, KKR and MI retained 4 players each, RR, RCB, and SRH went with 3 players each. PBKS retained the least 2 players.

Likewise, the two new teams were asked to complete their draft picks in the combination of a maximum of three players with not more than one overseas star. Lucknow Super Giants roped in KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Ravi Bishnoi, while the Ahmedabad team went with Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, and Shubman Gill.

Auction Process Rules:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has informed the franchises that the auction process will start in the following manner:

1. Marquee Set

2. Capped Players


3. Uncapped Players


RTM Cards: This will be the first time in IPL auctions that no Right to Match (RTM) cards would be available for franchises.

Maximum number of players allowed in a squad:


Minimum number of players allowed in a squad:


Maximum number of Foreign players allowed in a squad:


Final Retention List ahead of IPL 2022 Auction:

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr), MS Dhoni (12 cr), Moeen Ali (8 cr), Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 cr)
Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell (12 cr), Varun Chakravarthy (8 cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8 cr), Sunil Narine (6 cr)
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (14 cr), Abdul Samad (4 cr), Umran Malik (4 cr)
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (16 cr), Jasprit Bumrah (12 cr), Suryakumar Yadav(8 cr), Kieron Pollard (6 cr)
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (15 cr), Glenn Maxwell (11 cr), Mohammed Siraj (7 cr)
Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (16 cr), Axar Patel (9 cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5 cr), Anrich Nortje (6.5 cr)
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (14 cr), Jos Buttler (10 cr), Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 cr)
Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (12 cr), Arshdeep Singh (4 cr)
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (17 cr), Marcus Stoinis (9.2 cr), Ravi Bishnoi (4 cr)
Team Ahmedabad: Hardik Pandya (15 cr), Rashid Khan (15 cr), Shubman Gill (8 cr)

Base Price categories:

INR 2 Cr
INR 1.5Cr
INR 1 Cr
INR 75 L
INR 50 L
INR 40 L
INR 30 L
INR 20 L

Foreign player slot reaming:

Chennai Super Kings: 7
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 7
Mumbai Indians: 7
Punjab Kings: 8
Delhi Capitals: 7
Kolkata Knight Riders: 6
Rajasthan Royals: 7
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 7
Lucknow Super Giants: 7
Team Ahmedabad: 7

Remaining purse of all 10 teams:

Chennai Super Kings: INR 42 crores
Royal Challengers Bangalore: INR 57 crores
Mumbai Indians: INR 48 crores
Punjab Kings: INR 72 crores
Delhi Capitals: INR 47.5 crores
Kolkata Knight Riders: INR 48 crores
Rajasthan Royals: INR 62 crores
Sunrisers Hyderabad: INR 68 crores
Lucknow Super Giants: INR 58 crores
Team Ahmedabad: INR 52 crores

For latest cricket news & updates, visit