The 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is starting with a high-voltage clash between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on March 26 in Mumbai. Both sides were the finalists in the previous season of the cash-rich league, where CSK won the contest by 27 runs and lifted their fourth trophy in IPL history.

Ahead of the mouth-watering clash, former India cricketer Aakash Chopra, who once played for KKR in the inaugural season, has named his CSK XI for the tournament opener.

Not to mention, the defending champions will be without the services of some of their key players in the first match. Both Moeen Ali and Deepak Chahar are expected to miss out the opening game. While Ali is still waiting for his visa, Chahar is recovering from an injury.

Chopra reckoned that CSK should select Devon Conway as the fourth overseas player and let him open the innings along with Ruturaj Gaikwad.

“There are a few complications. If Moeen Ali is not available, who will be the four overseas for the first match? I am saying open with Devon Conway alongside Ruturaj Gaikwad. You will get a left-handed opener,” said Chopra on his YouTube channel.

Chopra felt Robin Uthappa should come to bat number three in the absence of Moeen, followed by Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube and skipper MS Dhoni.

“At No. 3, if you don’t have Moeen Ali, then Robin Uthappa. Once Moeen Ali comes, you will have to once again think about your overseas contingent which way you want to go. After that, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja and then Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni at No. 7,” added Chopra.

Further, the Agra-born went with Chris Jordon, Dwayne Bravo and Adam Milne as other overseas stars and mentioned that either of Jordon and Bravo should be picked once Chahar gets fit to play.

“After that, Dwayne Bravo. I have kept Hangargekar, Chris Jordan and Adam Milne in my team. So my four overseas players are Dwayne Bravo, Adam Milne, Chris Jordan and Devon Conway to begin with. Once Chahar becomes available, one out of Jordan or Bravo will play,” Chopra added further.

Akash Chopra’s CSK XI for the first match of IPL 2022:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Chris Jordan, Adam Milne.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit