• Home
  • Uncategorized
  • IND vs WI: Here is why KL Rahul will miss the first ODI against West Indies

IND vs WI: Here is why KL Rahul will miss the first ODI against West Indies

Email :0

Indian superstar Rohit Sharma is all set to lead the side in the upcoming ODI series against West Indies, starting February 06 in Ahmedabad. Despite Rohit’s return, fans won’t see the hosts’ full-strength side in the three-match series opener as KL Rahul will be missing the match.

Notably, when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had announced the white-ball squad for the limited-overs assignment, it was mentioned that Rahul would not be available for selection in the first ODI.

Although the apex Indian board didn’t give the exact reason, it has now been learned that Rahul has decided not to play the first ODI because of his sister’s wedding. According to a report in ESPNCricinfo, it’s the wedding in the family because of which Rahul wouldn’t be available for selection in the opening match.

The Karnataka stalwart is likely to join the squad on or before Sunday (February 06) and undergo mandatory isolation for three days before joining the Indian squad ahead of the second ODI on Wednesday (February 09).

COVID-19 hits Indian camp ahead of ODI series

Just a few days prior to the start of the first ODI, Team India have been hit by COVID-19 as seven members of the Indian contingent, including four players, have been tested positive for novel coronavirus.

On Wednesday, BCCI revealed that Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, reserve seamer Navdeep Saini, and three other staff members have returned positive tests for COVID-19. BCCI further said they have included Mayank Agarwal in the ODI squad.

ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mayank Agarwal.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post