On Monday, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced the 18-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against India, starting February 24 in Lucknow.

Batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who was recently a member of the Sri Lanka squad touring Australia for five T20Is, has been dropped from the outfit due to fitness concerns. Further, Avishka Fernando, fast bowler Nuwan Thushara and all-rounder Ramesh Mendis will also miss the T20Is against India due to respective injuries.

While Avishka is out due to his knee injury, Mendis and Thushara are unavailable because of thumb and side strain, respectively.

However, Ashian Daniel, the uncapped off-spinner, has been added to the squad. But, his inclusion is subject to ‘ministerial approval’. The 21-year-old, who debuted for Nondescripts Cricket Club in T20s, was one of the reserves for the ODI leg against Zimbabwe, held in January this year.

Star spinner Wanindu Hasaranga and left-arm speedster Binura Fernando, who had tested Covid-19 positive during the series in Australia, have been named in the squad after completing their seven-day isolation period.

Dasun Shanaka will once again lead the Lankans while Charith Asalanka will be his deputy. The three-game T20I series opener will be hosted by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on February 24 before the action move to Himanchal Pradesh, where HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala will host the remaining two matches on February 26 and 27, respectively.

Here is Sri Lanka T20I squad for the India series:

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel – Subjected to Ministerial approval

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.