The highly-anticipated mega-auction of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 ended on Sunday after 10 franchises battled out for two days to rope in the top-quality players in order to make the best combination. Out of 600 players, a total of 204 cricketers were sold during the process, which included 67 foreign players.

While some prominent names missed out to attract any buyer, a few players triggered the bidding war amongst various franchises. Notably, the cash-rich league has always witnessed franchises’ falling more for overseas players compared to Indian cricketers.

However, this time around, the teams were looking more towards home-grown talents than foreign stars. The official Twitter handle of IPL released the list of players who were the top buys in the two-day bidding event. Among the 11 players who crossed the INR 10 crore benchmark, only four were overseas players, while the remaining seven were Indian stars.

India’s wicketkeeper-batter, Ishan Kishan, was the most costliest buy at the IPL 2022 mega auction after Mumbai Indians (MI) shattered records to get him for INR 15.25 crore. Ishan became the second most expensive Indian player at an auction after legendary Yuvraj Singh, who was roped in at INR 16 crore in 2015 by Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils).

Apart from Ishan, speedster Deepak Chahar also scripted history after Chennai Super Kings (CSK) acquired his services for a whopping sum of INR 14 crore. Chahar became the most expensive Indian fast bowler in the history of IPL auctions.

Here are the top buys in IPL 2022 mega auction:

Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians) – INR 15.25 crore
Deepak Chahar (Chennai Super Kings) – INR 14 crore
Shreyas Iyer (Kolkata Knight Riders) – INR 12.25 crore
Liam Livingstone (Punjab Kings) – INR 11.50 crore
Shardul Thakur (Delhi Capitals) – INR 10.75 crore
Wanindu Hasaranga (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – INR 10.75 crore
Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – INR 10.75 crore
Nicholas Pooran (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – INR 10.75 crore
Lockie Ferguson (Gujarat Titans) – INR 10 crore
Prasidh Krishna (Rajasthan Royals) – INR 10 crore
Avesh Khan (Lucknow Super Giants) – INR 10 crore

For latest cricket news & updates, visit