One of Australia’s most well-known cricket leagues is the Big Bash League. The Big Bash League is also known as the KFC Big Bash League because of. This cricket league is played in the T20 format. Rather than the six state teams that had previously competed, there are now eight city-based franchises. The Big Bash League will begin this year on December 7, 2023, and we are here to provide you with all the information you need to know. Let’s dive into the blog and remember to follow & to receive timely sports information.

Key features of the league:

Name of the league

Big Bash League 2023-24/ KFC Big Bash League

Start date

7th December 2023

End date

24th Jan 2024

Number of matches


Number of teams


Cricket format


Tournament format

Double round-robin and playoffs

Cricket administrator

Cricket Australia

Host country


Streaming partner in India

Sony Sports Network

Streaming partner in Australia

Fox Sports and Seven Network

Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder are the eight competing teams.

Names of the players of every team:

Brisbane Heat:

Colin Munro, Usman Khawaja, Josh Brown, Max Bryant, Marnus Labuschagne, Matt Renshaw, Paul Walter, Michael Neser, Jack Wildermuth, Sam Billings, Jimmy Peirson, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Will Prestwidge, Mitchell Swepson & Jack Wood.

Adelaide Strikers:

James Bazley, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Chris Lynn, D Arcy Short, Matthew Short, Adam Hose, Rashid Khan, Jamie Overton, Alex Carey, Wes Agar, Cameron Boyce, Brendan Doggett, Ben Manenti & Henry Thornton.

Hobart Hurricanes: 

Tim David, Caleb Jewell, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson,

Mitchell Owen, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade, Iain Carlisle, Patrick Dooley, Nathan Ellis, Peter Hatzoglou, Riley Meredith, Billy Stanlake & Chris Jordan.

Melbourne Renegades:

Nic Maddinson, Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Mackenzie Harvey, Shaun Marsh, Jonathan Wells, Will Sutherland, Quinton de Kock, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Peter Siddle, Adam Zampa & Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Melbourne Stars:

Joe Burns, Nick Larkin, Beau Webster, Harry Brook, Hilton Cartwright, Campbell Kellaway, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Sam Harper, Scott Boland, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Joel Paris, Mark Steketee, Haris Rauf & Usama Mir.

Perth Scorchers:

Nick Hobson, Zak Crawley, Laurie Evans, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Josh Inglis, Sam Whiteman, Jason Behrendorff, Matthew Kelly, Hamish McKenzie, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson & Andrew Tye.

Sydney Sixers:

Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Kurtis Patterson, Jordan Silk, James Vince, Moises Henriques, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, Steve OKeefe, Tom Curran, Rehan Ahmed, Josh Philippe, Jackson Bird, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis & Todd Murphy.

Sydney Thunder:

Blake Nikitaras, Alex Ross, Jason Sangha, David Warner, Alex Hales, Oliver Davies, Chris Green, Daniel Sams, Cameron Bancroft, Matthew Gilkes, Liam Hatcher, Nathan McAndrew, Gurinder Sandhu, Tanveer Sangha & Zaman Khan.

Big Bash League 2023 – 24 Schedule & Fixtures

The league’s schedule:

The Big Bash League 2023–24 will take place from December 7–January 14, 2024. The league will have 44 games in total. Forty of these 44 games are league games, while four are playoff games.

But the arrangement was different before. There were five playoff games and fifty-six league games.

The venue of the matches:

The Gabba Stadium in Brisbane, Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney, Adelaide Oval Stadium in Adelaide, Simonds Stadium in Geelong, North Tasmania Cricket Association Ground in Launceston, Manuka Oval in Canberra, Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne, Perth Stadium in Perth, Docklands Stadium in Melbourne, Lavington Sports Oval in Albury, Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Sydney Showground in Sydney.

These are the venues where the matches will be held. Numerous grounds will be used for this league.

Some common FAQs

Which nation is hosting the BBL?
The Big Bash League, often known as the BBL, is held in Australia.

Which year did the BBL begin?
The 2011–12 season saw the launch of the Big Bash League.

What is the number of teams in the BBL?
There are eight teams taking part. Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, and Hobart Hurricanes are the teams.

Is it possible for me to watch the BBL from India? 
The Big Bash League’s streaming partner in India is Sony Sports Network. Thus, you can view the games on any Sony Sports channel.

Which BBL team has had the greatest success?
The most successful team in the BBL is the Perth Scorchers. They have won the championship five times.

Who in the BBL has scored the most runs?
The league’s highest run scorer is Chris Lynn. In total, he has scored 3421 runs.

In the BBL, who has taken the most wickets?
In the BBL, Sean Abbott has amassed the most wickets. He now holds 154 wickets.

What is the BBL’s revenue?
Revenue was 418.50 Cr in March 2023 compared to 731.05 Cr in March 2021.

Is there a BBL fan base?
Yes, without a doubt. Allow us to explain this to you. BBL’s revenue increased by 12.07 percent in comparison to the prior fiscal year. There are almost 1.4 million viewers of this league. Therefore, it is unquestionably popular. Concurrently, there is a notable surge in revenue. Therefore, it seems sense that popularity is growing with time.

Final words:

We know you guys are just like us, ardent sports fans who never pass up the chance to view some incredible shots. Thus, to ensure you never miss a game, keep checking and for up-to-date sports information.