Bangladesh have announced the 14-member squad for the upcoming home T20I series against Afghanistan.

Experienced campaigners Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Kumar Das, have all returned for the shortest format. Notably, Shakib was not available in the last T20I series against Pakistan at home due to injury. Similarly, Liton and Mushfiqur were rested due to bubble fatigue.

However, Nazmul Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Aminul Islam, Saif Hasan, and Akbar Ali were not named in the squad for the two-match series scheduled to begin at Dhaka on March 3.

Further, Bangladesh have included uncapped Munim Shahriar and Yasir Ali in their 14-member outfit for the two-match leg. Shahriar grabbed highlights in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League T20 2022 after he made 178 runs in six matches for Fortune Barishal. Similarly, Yasir also had an impressive outing in the BPL. He scored 219 runs for Khulna Tigers from 11 matches.

”We have kept a close eye on Munim for quite some time. We had also kept him in the High Performance Unit earlier, and now we want to see how he performs at international level,” said BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin as quoted by Cricbuzz.

”Yasir also did well in BPL, and we are aware about his hitting ability, so we are trying to see whether he fits in somewhere in the middle-order or not,” he added.

Both the T20Is will take place at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Before the T20I battle, both nations will lock horns in the three-match ODI series, starting February 23 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram.

Here is the Bangladesh squad for Afghanistan T20Is:

Mahmudullah (Captain), Liton Kumar Das, Munim Shahriar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Md Naim Sheikh.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit